Smart Ship Awards: The winners

Fathom-news is pleased to announce the industry’s first Smart Ship Awards, sponsored by Tototheo Maritime

 The winners have been announced for the Fathom Smart Ship Awards, the first and only awards dedicated to identifying the players making a real difference in leading the maritime industry towards a smart, connected and sustainable maritime future

These are also one of the first industry awards where the nominations were crowdsourced, as well as self-nominated, allowing the opportunity for a wider selection of submissions for the judges to consider.

Start-up of the year

The winner of the start-up of the year is ZS Wellness. ZS Wellness is a unique start-up that uses available technology and connectivity to cloud based systems to target crew health and welfare. The judges were impressed with the simplicity of the concept to improving health regimes onboard and said it demonstrated a focus on a key issue amongst owners and managers.

The judges want to offer a high recommendation to two other start-ups, FleetWave and We4Sea for their innovative approach to problem solving industry issues

Service or solution provider of the year

The winner of the smart service or solution award goes to NAPA, the digital software company, and part of ClassNK, for its recently released Fleet Intelligence solution. This is the industry’s first web service that provides fleet owners with access to operational insights without the need for costly and laborious on-board installations.

The judges award a highly commended merit to Metis Cybertehnology for their continued advances in improving maritime security resilience

Digital enabler

The digital enabler award goes to a company which the judging panel saw as dong the most to enhance smart business solution through partnerships or platforms that others can utilise

This award goes to the STM Validation Project for its successes in drawing in many different industry actors to create improved communication between vessels and vessel and shore that promises significant improvements in safety and costs.

The judges said they wish to award a highly commended to Rainmaking for its continued involvement driving value through entrepreneurial investment in the maritime sector.

Digital Changemaker

The Changemaker of the year award goes to Hege Skryseth, head of Kongsberg Digital for the drive she has shown in delivering various Kongsberg products in recent months that exemplify the digital growth In the maritime and shipping sectors.

Details about the awards can be found on

“I would like to congratulate all the winners and all who entered or were entered into these industry awards says Craig Eason, Fathom Maritime Intelligence Editorial Director and overseer of the Smart Ship Awards judging panel. “Judging such an array of talented companies that show huge potential in the maritime and shipping industries,

The judges come from outside the maritime industry as well as within and comprise Alastair Evitt, Group Director of Shipmanagement at V.Group; Mark O’Neil, President at Columbia Marlow Shipmanagement ltd; Tim Wilkins Environment Director and Regional Manager Asia-Pacific at INTERTANKO;  Christopher Hedvall, Investment Consultant, Whytewood Technologies; Patrick Verhoeven, Managing Director at International Association of Ports and Harbors (IAPH); Andreas Chrysostomou, V.P Government and Public Affairs at CLIA Europe.

Leave a comment here

Comments are closed.