Fathom World

Mapping the transformation of shipping and the oceans

Design, Engineering & SafetyUncategorised

Ship Efficiency Review Editor Catherine Austin Joins Expert Judging Panel For Wind Propulsion Innovation Awards

The editor of Ship Efficiency Review magazine and its associated daily online news, Catherine Austin, has been selected to join the expert judging panel for the inaugural Wind Innovation Awards, as hosted by the International Windship Association (IWSA).

The Wind Propulsion Innovation Awards recognise pioneering projects, technological innovation and the development of wind propulsion as technically and commercially viable solutions within the shipping industry. These awards will spotlight individuals and companies making a tangible difference in advancing wind propulsion as a low carbon, truly sustainable option for the world’s shipping fleet.

The 2016 awards ceremony will be held at SMM Hamburg 2016 (Shipbuilding, Machinery & Marine Technology conference) in Hamburg from 6 – 9 September, 2016.

“It is a great honour to be asked to join the expert judging panel for these pioneering awards. The innovation that is being driven by wind propulsion technology manufacturers is astounding and it’s only right that these efforts are recognised and celebrated by a wind propulsion-specific awards ceremony,” said Catherine Austin, editor of Ship Efficiency Review and Executive Director of Fathom Maritime Intelligence.

Ms Austin will sit amongst the following experts on the judging panel:  Alistair Fischbacher – Chief Executive, Sustainable Shipping Initiative, Craig Eason – Deputy Editor, Lloyds List, Dimitris Argyos – BG Group, Gary A. Mc Intyre– J.Lauritzen A/S, Gavin Lispith – Editor, Motorship, Dr. Jasper Faber  – CE Delft, Katharine Palmer – Manager Environment & Sustainability, Lloyd’s Register Marine, Capt.Michael Vahs – Emden Leer University, Prof.Orestis Schinas – Hamburg School of Business Administration, Prof. Osman Turan – University of Strathclyde, Peter Schenzle –Hamburg University, Dr. Pierre C Sames – DNV/GL  AS, Sam Kimmins & Sara SkoldSustainable Transport Specialists, Tyndall Centre – Manchester University.

The four categories in this year’s Wind Propulsion Innovation awards are:

  • The Wind Propulsion in Commercial Shipping – Innovation Award. Open to developers of innovative technology, network building or business development in the field.
  • The Wind Propulsion Technology User Award. For any company championing the use of wind propulsion in the maritime sector through supporting, testing, prototyping, operation or commercial use.
  • The Wind Propulsion Research Award. To be presented to one of the researchers, engineers, naval architects or academics for their contribution to the sector and a final special category.
  • The Lifetime Achievement Award. For one of the outstanding figures in the wind propulsion sector over the past few decades.

Nominations for these awards are now officially open and the deadline for entries is the June 7, 2016. Shortlisted finalists for each award category will be announced in June 2016 and the three main categories will be decided by open vote. The Lifetime Achievement award winner will be selected by IWSA member vote. Winners will be announced during SMM, 6 – 9 September, 2016.

Nominations are now invited for each category and should be accompanied by a short description of why that project, company or individual should be considered for the award. More details on how to make a nomination can be found at http://wind-ship.org/en/innovation_awards_2016/

Ship Efficiency Review News
To contact the reporter responsible for this article, please email editor@fathom-mi.com

About Author

fathom-news is an online news and analysis service dedicated to providing insight and knowledge on the transformation of shipping.

Comment here